The Changeless Love of God


I first came upon the following quote while reading, Ruthless Trust, by Brennan Manning and then only a few weeks later–if that–from my daughter-in-law Kate during her first sermon. Here then is a paraphrase of the quote I am referring to:

God loves us just as we are, not as we should be. What we do or don’t do does not change how much God loves us. We cannot do anything to make God love us any more or any less.

The truth of these words is something that I think I am only beginning to grasp and believe for myself. Somehow, the opposite message–that God loves me more or less depending on what I do or don’t do–still lingers and causes me to doubt God’s unconditional and changeless love for me. However, I can also say my faith and trust in God’s love for me continues to grow and is becoming increasingly real to me.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

