Annual Review = Anxiety and Insecurity


My annual review is well under way. It is a process that includes invited input from every board member as well as all the staff (5) that I directly supervise. I don’t think I have anything to worry about and there shouldn’t be any surprises … but my insecure and overly analytical self goes into high gear. I think part of the reason is due to a couple of bad experiences over the years, including one at a church — surprise, surprise:-)

I think I’m handling it a lot better–so far–than I have in past years. It helps a lot when I remember that my security is or should be from God and not a job. It also helps when I approach it with a willingness to improve–I should want to do and give my very best for and to God both in my job and all of life. And, I really don’t believe that any board or staff member has any kind of an axe to grind or is “out to get me” for some reason–however, there have been years when I believed the opposite.

The following passage from Jeremiah 29:11 is a good one for me to remember, reflect on, and believe at times like these:

For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

