Merton on Possessions


There was a time when the phrase, Live Simply So That Others Can Live, was somewhat prevalent or at least familiar. The following quote from Thomas Merton’s book, No Man is an Island. His words, like the “Live Simply” saying are something that we as Americans don’t seem to hear much about. Perhaps it’s because we don’t want to hear about it. If we did, would we want to believe and act on it? What do you think?

“The more goods I keep for my own enjoyment, the less there are for others. My pleasures and comforts are, in a certain sense, taken from someone else. And when my pleasures and comforts are inordinate, they are not only taken from another, they are stolen. I must learn to deprive myself of good things in order to give them to others who have a greater need of them than I.”

This entry was posted in , catholic, justice, monastic, spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

