Prayer When Facing Uncertainty


Since I am in a transition period between jobs and I know I am not alone in this experience, I decided to re-visit and share my post on prayer during uncertainty.

Journey Toward Shalom

Uncertainty_road_sign_800px

We all face and live with uncertainty. In fact, the reality is that our future is always uncertain and we only have today or the present. Yet, there are those times when the reality of this uncertainty becomes acutely palpable. It’s at times like these that I am thankful for the gift of the prayer which Thomas Merton shared in Thoughts in Solitude and is commonly known as The Merton PrayerI share it with you here (I also shared it in an earlier posting in December) with the hope and prayer that it might help you or someone you know like it helps me:

My Lord God,
I have no idea where I am going.
I do not see the road ahead of me.
I cannot know for certain where it will end.
Nor do I really know myself,
And the fact that I think that…

View original post 118 more words

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

