A Reason to Write Again


I wanted to share Robin Luftig’s post (review) about Heather Kopp’s memoir, Sober Mercies, with everyone who reads or visits my blog on occasion. I am nearly finished reading it and Robin’s comments about Heather’s book hit the proverbial nail on the head as far as I’m concerned. Heather also has a blog that you might want to check out at soberboots.com if you’re interested in what she has to say.

Robin Luftig

It’s been such a long time since I’ve written. Life certainly has a way of getting big, and mine did … in spades! Work, having family visit, us visiting family, and finishing my preparation for a writer’s conference this month have all been pulling at my time. But I have a good friend, you see … and this friend wrote this incredible book … and I had to stop my life’s tempo to share it with you.

sober-mercies

Sober Mercies: How Love Caught up with a Christian Drunk (Jericho Books) is more than a book about the need for recovery. It’s a story about what happens after someone addicted to alcohol lives with recovery. And it’s about how someone who has a relationship with Christ can suffer from addiction.

Heather recounts a conversation with a newbie (a new attendee of a 12-step meeting) in her book (pp. 199):

“I’m a Christian…

View original post 519 more words

This entry was posted in , Addiction, alcoholism, recovery, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

