Insights from When Helping Hurts – post #2


I am presently leading a study of this book with two CRC churches in Holland, MI for the next several weeks. I was happy to find that these posts from Wendy McCaig on her blog (wendymccaig.wordpress.com).

Wendy McCaig

I am currently blogging my way through the book “When Helping Hurts: How to alleviate poverty without hurting the poor and yourself.” As I shared in my first post, the author starts by asking foundational theological questions.  How you answer these questions will shape how you approach those who are materially poor.  I think the reason Christians are not more unified around caring for the poor comes down to our basic theological differences and how we answer these questions which I shared in the first post.

Why did Jesus come to earth? Like the authors, I believe Jesus answers that question in Luke 4:17-21, his first sermon, where Jesus reads the words of the prophet Isaiah, “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight…

View original post 596 more words

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

